His Majesty's Bed & Breakfast

A look inside our B&B

Trip to the Cemetery

on June 24, 2013

025While I was at the Historical Society last weekend I came across the information on where the original owners of the house we now call our B&B are buried.

Nathaniel and Mary Holbrook

Now most people probably wouldn’t find that excited but I did.  Next step was for my daughter Katie & I to take a trip to the Fairview Cemetery in Madison.

Good news – we had the Section #, Row # and headstone #

Bad news – there wasn’t a map of the cemetery

Once we drove around the cemetery & realized there wasn’t a map anywhere to be found – we just took a guess at the sections and parked.  Really how hard could it be to find the headstone.

Good news – we actually guessed the right section & parked fairly close to the headstone.

Bad news – it still took us an hour to find it.

Luckily Katie had her cellphone with her and she looked up the cemetery list on the internet.  Long story short – we finally found it.  We did walk past it several times but didn’t notice the name.

033I took the picture to the right to show you just how close we parked to the headstone.  That’s Katie standing next to the row we needed to find – and yes the tall headstone to the right is the one we were so desperately looking for.028 026


2 responses to “Trip to the Cemetery

  1. Amy Hint says:

    This is really interesting. I love stuff like this!

  2. chmjr2 says:

    Oh the cemetery searches that I have been through. I enjoyed your post as it made me think about the times I have spent in the hunt. I am sure this summer I will be back out there.

Leave a comment